The Diamonds of Darkness

Standard

“The Tower” ©Stephanie Pui-Mun Law http://www.shadowscapes.com.

 

The very best form of learning is experiential because the lesson is taught on many different dimensions. It follows that the very best teachers work experientially. The thing to remember is that that the lessons come from life itself. They arise from our aliveness and the only difference between the teacher and the student is the teacher has more experience.

Yesterday, some friends helped create such a lesson. You can find it here. As an example of the Gestalt Cycle, it is perfect – I have excluded an interruption that, in my opinion, sought to introject a ‘solution’ that did not fit the problem. I left it out because I’m tired and bored with the interrupters and to make a song-and-dance about such individuals is to divert attention from where it is needed. They are unneeded distractions. I have also excluded someone who supported me on the facts about financial poverty within the system we all find ourselves in. I’m grateful for their support but for this to work effectively I need to stand alone at the moment. We need to be able to see my mistakes and supporters can veil this aspect if we are not careful. This is a lesson. I am a teacher. I believe my lesson’s aim is to support the impoverished but if they can’t see where I’ve fucked up then we can’t correct my errors. In truth, both of those I’ve left out belong in the wider story – they are as much a part of the Gestalt as the participants but I don’t know them as well as the central characters.

This is a recapitulation of what occurred now that my personal Gestalt Cycle has completed itself. It was my Cycle so I’m discussing it from what I can see – how it interfaces with the other participants will be for them to decide.

The main charactors are my Egyptian friend, my Lightworker friend, an old Guardianista friend and me.

The teaching Cycle began an out-pouring of Self from my Egyptian friend. If I have my facts straight, nag0ul took such an active role in his country’s ‘Arab Spring’ that he was arrested and detained at one point. Certainly, now, he is under 24 hour surveillance in a country that is ruled by a military that sees no problem in killing its citizens when they protest, supported by lawyers that permits them to get away with murder. No-one in the Egyptian hierarchy has been brought to account for the deaths of protesters and it looks like no-one will. So, my Egyptian friend knows he is facing retribution of some sort whatever hue of government takes power. Therefore, his initial outpouring is totally understandable.

I stopped trying to interrupt his Cycle of Experience (none of us are exempt from this mistake!) when I remembered my own outpourings whilst I was a prisoner. He was in a place of deep transformation where existing internal psychic structures collapse and he describes this process extremely well. From my own experience, this is a deeply painful process of disappointment and there is really nothing anyone can do except keep them company. It is a long and hard fall from Hope to Despair, and it takes just about everything we believe in with it. In the Tarot, this is the card of the Tower. In Astrology, this is the action of Pluto.

This Fall takes us over the boundary of Death. It may not result in physical death, although it can and it may not be our own death that triggers the process. If we live, what dies are the assumptions we have structured out lives upon and someone in the throes of the Fall can take our own assumptions with them.

As my Egyptian friend ‘fell’, and with my own grief triggered by Father’s Day, the pain I was holding became too much. Politically and personally, I am close to ground zero at present and aware that I may be facing a move to its epicentre. This is not a new experience for me. My Father’s death initiated my own ‘first fall’ and subsequent events collapsed my life until I was transformed into an undesirable, unemployable exile in my own country. Whilst my experiences are my own and cannot be compared with nag0ul’s, the pattern of energy is the same. A fall from Life to Death holds the same archetype wherever it is played out and the results are the ashes of despair. Those bearing witness are liable to feel fear of their own fall, especially if they have not experienced this for themselves.

What is most important to remember here is that, like the Phoenix, ashes are not the end of the story. The collapsing structures represent outdated power; when the Tower is dust, so energy previously locked within is freed to create in new ways… but only if the environment allows it. The energy of Pluto is Life-Death-Life – it does not end with death.

My first experience of Death was also my first experience of Grief. Grief is a trauma. As the roots of the Greek word for trauma suggest – grief pierces our ego-structures and breaks our heart open to greater Love. It has to be Love because only that power can cause us to grieve when it is ‘gone’. A deep wound to Love creates intense vulnerability which can only be healed with kindness, patience, compassion, understanding and time, as anyone who has experienced grief will tell you. The problem grieving people have is that we live in a world where all those qualities are in very short supply. So when vulnerable people are subjected to cruelty, impatience, heartlessness, deliberate incomprehension and no time, it will trigger feelings of deep rage. This is what occurred with the Arab Spring. This is what is occurring elsewhere across our planet.

Frequently, those experiencing this process transform into activists. We see the ‘wrong’ and start to do something about it. Our choices and actions begin to create new structures within us, just as the Plutonic energy intends. However, those of us who have become activists over the past few years are constantly facing an opposition hell-bent on keeping us imprisoned within their old and collapsing paradigms. To my eyes, they appear criminally insane and my own rage at this situation erupted into the Twittersphere, triggered by grief and activated by my friend’s despair.

This is a powerful dynamic of an energy seeking to evolve. My new friend, Adam, mistook it to begin with until I was able to explain what was occurring using the Laws of Grief. The first Law of Grief is Respect. If the energies being expressed by the mourner are fundamentally healthy, then they demand respect, even if their appearance is initially alarming or disturbing. If witnesses cannot offer respect, they are likely to be shot down by the emerging Rage – as one person was by me. On the other hand, if respect is established – as it was with Adam – then the rage can begin a second transformation into Passion. Rage is no longer required because the energy is being heard. What emerges is the information needed to build new and healthy structures from the ashes of the old. This process is apparent in my personal Storify.

It is these new energies that Activists seek to support and develop. My passionate rage was rooted in the relentless attacks these individuals can be subject to, both collectively and individually. Whilst I might agree that new energies, if still ‘infected’ by old memes, may need to be continually dismantled until we arrive at a healthy structure there comes a point when it is plain that the destructive forces being applied are downright malevolent. So whilst I may have been enabled to move out of the Death-stage yesterday, I am under no illusions that the political forces in my country won’t attempt to send me back there. In my own Self, I am certain I’d prefer to be dead than to consent to this. The suicide levels in the West suggest that I am not alone in this. That this suits the NWO is beyond any doubt because they would be acting to prevent this if it didn’t – instead they are heaping more of the same upon those they purport to ‘govern’. The System is waging war on its own people. Activists understand this and do something about it but they are not superhuman. We need to remember and give to the grieving what they need to evolve. Sitting back and doing little or nothing is to deprive them of support when it is needed most. Support can be as little as a retweet or as much as your heart prompts you to give.

One aspect of my Gestalt Cycle was the issue of financial poverty. In a world filled with envy, this subject becomes booby-trapped, so I make no claims to be ‘right’ with this aspect. I will simply say what I see.  What needs to be remembered here is that the vast majority of Activists are financially impoverished. What they achieve is done with so few material resources that the shaman-in-me starts talking about miracles. Those who benefit from their actions are frequently poor too. The question that always arises in me is “what might they be able to achieve if they actually did have resources?” This is then tempered with Sufi wisdom that teaches when financial assistance is absent, people find out what they are genuinely capable of in a spiritual sense. Clear answers elude me and I have to fall back to trusting that the greater Power of Love knows what it is about far better than I do and I surrender.

This story is still unfolding. In my experience, each time we are felled by the pressures of the old and have to walk through our own darkness, we collect diamonds of wisdom along the way. These are the diamonds I collected yesterday. In sharing them, I hope they may inspire new activists and resources for existing ones, however those resources might manifest. The only thing I can be certain of is that the other participants in my story will know things I don’t either because I’ve made a mistake or I’ve misunderstood what I am looking at. But I will only find out by sharing what I know.

If any of these diamonds are useful to you, please help yourself.

Leave a Reply

