Identifying Our Sacred Signposts

Standard
In Ecuador's Yasuní National Park, butterflies sip a yellow-spotted river turtle's tears. The mineral-rich liquid helps the insects reproduce. In exchange, the reptile gets a good eye-cleaning. (Click on photo for more information)

In Ecuador’s Yasuní National Park, butterflies sip a yellow-spotted river turtle’s tears. The mineral-rich liquid helps the insects reproduce. In exchange, the reptile gets a good eye-cleaning.
(Click on photo for more information)

 

Human society is filled with those claiming they speak in God’s Name. They come from everywhere on the planet and have been responsible for both wondrous creativity and unspeakable atrocities, particularly in Western culture. It is a very delicate operation, therefore, to start claiming some kind of divine power for oneself – regardless of who we are. As someone who has made such a claim – even if it only applies to me and requires no other believer – it helps to produce evidence.

 

The problem with sacred knowledge is that it is – and always will be – absolutely personal to the ‘Knower’. To make anything authentically sacred is to infuse Life with the meanings of Love, Creation and Power. Each one of us defines and understands such qualities at a personal level. What maybe meaningful for one person, can mean little or nothing to another. What I do know, from personal experience, is that if someone reaches for the Sacred with an open mind, the Sacred often replies with synchronous events that are meaningful to the individual.

 

For example: the ‘bid for power’ contained within my previous post has started producing such ‘proofs’.

 

The first is symbolic.

The picture at the top of this post, with it’s accompanying information about the Amazonian Yellow-spotted River Turtle’s Gift of Tears, carries significant meaning for me. I made abundant use of Butterfly wisdom in my post and, separately, have been clear of the importance I attach to the First People’s movement, Idle No More. For those unfamiliar with the cultures and histories of the First Peoples, it may interest you to know that the land mass of North America is known as ‘Turtle Island‘. Amongst the darker tales of the First People’s history is the genocidal ‘colonization’ of America by white immigrants in the nineteenth century, resulting in ”ethnic cleansing’ and called the “Trail of Tears“.  The First Peoples’ experience of Life includes both turtles and tears.

Whilst the article about the butterflies and turtle tears may have been published on 22 December 2012 (an interesting date given the Spiritual significance so many people attached to the previous day), I did not encounter it until now – after I had written about butterflies.

It is without doubt that I drink the shared indigenous vision and wisdom of contemporary First Nations wisdom as I struggle with my own path. It follows that such knowledge will be infused with the collective experience of the Trail of Tears and many similar lesser-known histories of the First Peoples. If I listen to the timing of our Earth Mother and her example of the yellow-spotted river turtles generosity to the creative abilities of butterflies, I might trust that my intuitions are guiding me correctly but…

For this to be true, there must be an exchange – there must be something to my drinking at this source of creativity and wisdom that cleans the vision of the giver. To me, unless that requirement is met, the synchronicity remains unconfirmed. Many First Peoples object to the colonization of their Sacred Ways by westerners and rightly so given the cruel treatment and systemic betrayals to which they have been and continue to be subjected to by governments. So, there is the possibility of a link but it has yet to be verified.

 

The second synchroncity is this:  “Ways of extending the welfare state to the poor”

The links in this blog are much closer to home. In my previous blog, I talk about the need to return to the land and to the communities who dwell there. This is written by ‘my people’ – I live in North East England – and my people are saying that ‘Names have Power’ and are starting to redefine the language we have been subjected to. The region has good reason to want to redefine this language given the massive loss of earning potential it has experienced in the last 24 years.

 

The third synchronicity is this: the lunar eclipse on May 25  falls on Quyllur Rit’i or Star Snow Festival of the First Peoples of the Inca.

The Quyllur Rit’i festival falls in a period of time when the Pleiades constellation, or Seven Sisters, a 7-star cluster in the Taurus Constellation, disappears and reappears in the Southern Hemisphere. The star movement signals the time of the coming harvest and therefore a time of abundance. For this reason Incan astronomers cleverly named the Pleiades “Qullqa” or storehouse in their native language Runa Simi (“human’s language”) or Quechua as it is also called.

Metaphorically, due to the star’s disappearance from the night sky and reemergence approximately two months afterwards is a signal that our planes of existence have times of disorder and chaos, but also return to order. This outlook coincides with the recent Pachakuti or Inca Prophecy literally translated from the two words pacha and kuti (Quechua pacha “time and space”, kuti “return”) where pacha kuti means “return of time”, “change of time” or “great change or disturbance in the social or political order”.[3]

(Many thanks to Mike Williams for sharing this)

If theory is accurate, this will be the first Star Snow Festival since the resetting of the Mayan ‘Long Count’ calendar since 21 December 2012. I didn’t know this festival existed when I wrote about the astrological impact the eclipse will have on my birthchart. Now it’s significance has deepened in my own understanding of the Sacred Mystery.

For me, this third ‘coincidence’ completes the sacred circle which began with the butterflies and turtles because we return to South America.

These are the energies that have found me this morning. That they have come in a three-fold manner is meaningful to me. That they arrived unexpectedly and independently means they are beyond my personal control – I did not go looking for them. They contain sacred information about life, people and our Great Mother Earth and seem to confirm what my imagination was telling me two days ago.

Perhaps the beating of this butterfly’s wings has produced an energetic reply. I will wait and see.

“Oh, Sacred Spirit – I am paying very close attention to Thou but I am just one small and imperfect woman who makes many mistakes. If my ‘seeing’ is true, May You Share Your Wisdom With Your Awakened Children so we might better understand your Will.”

“What I tell you three times is true” – Lewis Carroll

Thanks to Julienne for this picture.

Thanks to Julienne for this picture.

Leave a Reply

